Show Changes from Default

Often, it can be difficult to see if the configurations of certain parts of a robot are done in a way that is non-standard, so to speak, e.g. a Page Load step that has been given a longer time out than the default value of 60.0. You would have to open dialogs and maybe click on tabs to get to the place where a property has been changed from the default. Then you would have to look at all the properties displayed to see if any of these have a value that is non-standard. Also, to be able to do this, you would have to remember what the default values for all the properties are. This is why we have introduced the Show Changes feature in Design Studio. Properties having a well-defined default value are marked with an asterisk * next to the property name if their value has been changed. The figure below shows this for the Options Dialog.

Notice that there are also asterisks on tabs. This means that some property on that tab has been changed. If you right click on the property name or the asterisk a popup menu will let you reset the value to its default. As a short cut for this you can double-click on the property name or the asterisk and the value of the property will be set to its default. The popup menu will also, if possible, show you what the default value is. Also, the asterisk on a tab has an attached popup menu that can be used to reset all properties on the tab to their default values. The figure below shows this for the Timeout for Each Attempt property on the Options Dialog.

There is one situation in which Show Changes works a little different than elsewhere, and that is in the Options dialog when this is used to configure options for a step. You can generally configure options in two places:

In both places, you click on a button to open the Options dialog to configure the options, but the default value is different for the two situations. If you open the dialog from Robot Configuration then the default is a fixed application default, that is the default values that the Design Studio application provides. If you open the dialog from a step configuration, the default is the one defined under Robot Configuration (robot default). That is, a step inherits the option values from the robot configuration unless these have explicitly been changed for the step. For example, if the option "Enable Cookies" has been deselected in the robot configuration, all steps that depend on this option will also use this setting unless you have explicitly changed this on the step. An asterisk on an option for a step indicates that the step uses a value different from the one defined in the robot configuration and not necessarily different from the application default.

There is another way in which an asterisk on the step's Options dialog has a different meaning than on the Robot Configuration's Option dialog. For options on the step's Option dialog, an asterisk means that the given option has deliberately been set to a fixed value not necessarily different from the corresponding Robot Configuration value and that it will not be influenced by any changes in the corresponding Robot Configuration value. For example, if initially the Timeout for Each Attempt property for a step is set to 120 and the corresponding value under the Robot Configuration is 60 then there will be an asterisk next to this option. If the Robot Configuration value is then changed to 120 so that the two values are actually the same, then the step's value is still marked with an asterisk and if the value for the robot is again changed away from 120 then the value for the step will stay unchanged at 120. If, however, you change the step's value back to its default value (the value from the Robot Configuration) using the popup menu or double-click, the step's value will use the Robot Configuration value and subsequently follow any changes made to this.

Another situation where the default value may depend on other configuration choices is found in the configuration of a step's error handling.