Cluster Mode

A cluster can be in three different modes: Normal, Maintenance or Pending Maintenance. The maintenance mode is used to set clusters into a mode where nothing is run on them. The point of this is to be able to update clusters settings in a way that ensures that all robots in a given schedule use the same settings, and that settings are not changed in the middle of schedule runs. The table below explains the different modes.

Cluster Mode

Description

Normal

In the Normal cluster mode, a cluster is operating normally, and schedules and individual robots are executed as expected. In this mode, Cluster settings will not be "applied" to the RoboServers in order not to change settings in the middle of schedule runs.

Maintenance

In Maintenance mode, no robots are allowed to run on the cluster (unless initiated from the API, see below). For cluster settings to be applied to the RoboServers, a cluster MUST be in Maintenance mode.

Pending Maintenance

There are 3 ways of setting a cluster into Maintenance mode. These specify what to do with currently running or queued robots and schedules. When setting a cluster into Maintenance mode, one of the 3 ways are chosen and until nothing is running on the cluster (except possibly API robots, see below), it will be in Pending Maintenance mode. The 3 ways of settings a cluster into Maintenance mode are explained below.

Stop All Robots and Schedules Now

This will attempt to stop all currently running robots. Any queued robots are de-queued and not run. This is the fastest way of settings a cluster into Maintenance mode.

Finish Currently Running Tasks and Stop

This will ensure that all robots that have been started and are currently running will finish before the cluster goes into Maintenance mode. A schedule running several robots where some are queued and some running, will only have it's currently running robots run; any queued robots are de-queued.

Finish Currently Running Schedules and Stop

This will make sure that all running and queued robots are finished. This means that any started schedules will finish before the cluster is set into Maintenance mode.

Cluster Modes


To change cluster mode, click the 'Change Cluster Mode' button above the cluster list. This will open the following dialog:

Changing cluster mode

In the dialog, the cluster that should have it's mode changed must be selected, and one of the above described ways of transitioning into maintenance mode must be selected. Hint: the cluster mode can also be changed by right-clicking the cluster in the list and selecting the appropriate sub menu-item under 'Change Cluster Mode'.

The cluster modes are, as the name implies, only relevant on a cluster level. As such, they are a way for the Management Console to control when tasks can be executed on clusters. They do not, however, control the individual RoboServers. This means that robots started from the API are not attempted stopped when going into Maintenance mode. Therefore, the settings of a RoboServer can be updated while API robots are running. It is guaranteed, though, that a robot will not have its settings updated during its execution. So, for instance, if database are updated while one or more API robots are running, the robots will use the databases that were configured when they started. Next time they are run, they will use the new settings.