Logs

This tab is used to view the logs created the Management Console and by the RoboServers' database logging. The 'Schedule Runs' and 'Schedule Messages' are Management Console logs that report information on schedules. The remaining logs are RoboServer logs containing information on the status of the RoboServers and on robots and robot runs. The Management Console logs are written to the Management Console database and are therefore always available. The RoboServers logs, however, require that a logging database is set up in the Management Console settings (see Settings->Log Database) and that database logging is enabled on the RoboServers via the logging cluster settings.

Log View

You select one of the 6 log views, by clicking the icon next to the log you desire to view.

The page layout for each of the six logs are identical. When you click the a number of filters are displayed to the left, and the data is loaded into the grid to the right. Below the filters there is a select box, and 3 buttons

Adding columns to data grid

The Add Column button is used to add and remove columns to the grid to the right. Reset clears any filter configuration entered. Update loads the grid with data based on the configuration of the filters. The select box controls the number of results per page (for the next update). If there are more results than the number selected per page, you can navigate to the next page using the controls under the data grid. You may also hit the Return button in any filter text field to trigger an update.

If you don't delete the log messages, automatic cleanup systems are in place that will make sure the logs do not grow beyond certain sizes. For the RoboServer logs, the RoboServer's automated cleanup system will do so by deleting the oldest messages first. In Settings->RoboServer Log Database you can configure the number of messages required before a cleanup is triggered. The schedule logs cleanup thresholds are defined in Settings->Schedule Logs.

Schedule Runs

Displays execution information for each schedule that executes, such as when the schedule started and when it finished.

The context menu allows you to navigate to the individual schedule message, or to the robots that were executed as part of this schedule run.

If you click in the Delete column, a window will open allowing you to Delete the Run and messages. When deleting, you always have to delete the messages, but you can keep the run information if you like. You can delete this run and messages, or all runs or messages matching the current filter. Deleting many runs or messages, may take some time.

Schedule Messages

Displays individual message entries for a given schedule run. This allows you to see exactly why a schedule failed to run.

Note: Robot errors for a given schedule run can be found by selecting "View robots view errors" from the context menu.

You can delete one or more records by clicking the Delete column. This will open a window in which you can select to delete only this message, all message matching the current filter, or all RoboServer log messages (the option to delete message matching a filter is disabled if there are more than 500 matching results. This is due to performance).

RoboServer

Displays general messages from RoboServer or the Management Console. You can double click or use the context menu to open the message in a separate window, making it easier to copy the error message.

You can delete one or more records by clicking the Delete column. This will open a window in which you can select to delete only this message, all message matching the current filter, or all RoboServer log messages (the option to delete message matching a filter is disabled if there are more than 500 matching results. This is due to performance).

Robots

This is a simple summary view of all robots ever run (for as long as data is available). If you double click a row or use the context menu, you will navigate to all runs for the given robot.

Robot Runs

Displays information for each robot run. This log contains a number of extra fields which are not shown by default, but can be added by clicking the Add Column below the filters. Double clicking a row takes you to all messages logged during this run, this is also available through the context menu. The context menu also allows you to view all runs for the same robot, or view the input this robot was given when this run was executed.

If you click the Delete column, a window will open allowing you to Delete the Run and messages. When deleting, you always have to delete the messages, but you can keep the run information if you like. You can delete this run and messages, or all runs or messages matching the current filter. Deleting many runs or messages may take some time.

Robot Messages

Displays individual error messages belonging to a robot run. Double clicking a row brings up a window which allows you to easily copy the error message. Using the context menu, you can navigate to the run this message belongs to.

For robot errors, the Location Code column in the data grid contains a link. When you click the link a small .robotDebug file is downloaded. If you open the file with Design Studio, the robot will be loaded, the input from the run will be set, and the robot will navigate to the location of the error, allowing you to quickly debug errors.