Types

This subsection lists the types that have been uploaded to the Management Console Repository. At the top of the types tab, you select the project whose types should be displayed.

When a schedule runs, the robots linked to it are executed on RoboServer. Many robots require types as definitions of either input, output or both. These types must be available in the Repository (in the same project as the robot) or running the robot will fail.

When you upload a type to the Repository, it is copied into the Repository. Thus, if changes are made later to the type in Design Studio, it needs to be uploaded again. Since each type name must be unique (within each project), uploading the type again overwrites the previous version.

You may upload multiple types by the same name only if they are placed in separate projects.

The following information is displayed for each type.

Column

Description

Name

The name of the type.

Size

The size of the type in bytes.

Project Name

Displays the project the type belongs to (useful when viewing All project).

Delete

Click this button to delete the type from the Repository. If you don't have a copy of the type in the file system, it is irrevocably lost.

Last modified

The timestamp for the last change of this type.

Download

Click this button to download a copy of the type from the Repository and save it in the file system.

Created By (not shown by default)

The user name of the user who first uploaded the type. This feature is only available when running a stand-alone Kapow Katalyst using LDAP.

Modified By (not shown by default)

The user name of the user who last modified the type. This feature is only available when running a stand-alone Kapow Katalyst using LDAP.

Type Information


Clicking the "Add Type" button in the upper left corner opens a dialog for uploading a new type. Note that type may implicitly be uploaded with the aid of Design Studio. This happens when you use Design Studio to upload a robot that uses the type. Because Design Studio knows about the dependencies between robots and type, it always uploads the necessary types along with the robot.

If you click the in Delete column, you will be prompted to confirm the delete. If the type is used by a robot or snippet, the confirmation message will include the usage count. If you delete a type that is used by a robot or snippet, the robot (or robots using the snippet) will no longer be able to execute.